Please select To the mobile version | Continue to access the desktop computer version
View: 11491|Reply: 9

HDD Problem

[Copy link]

1

Threads

5

Posts

33

Credits

Newbie

Rank: 1

Credits
33
Post time 2019-12-18 14:27:39 | Show all posts |Read mode
Hi,
I bought a Beelink 3 Pro used. The first installation worked so far. What makes me a little puzzled is that only 28 GB HDD are displayed. You can also see more in the disk management. Is there a trick?
Thank you!

Reply

Use magic Report

334

Threads

2648

Posts

8031

Credits

Administrator

Rank: 9Rank: 9Rank: 9

Credits
8031
Post time 2019-12-19 11:31:17 | Show all posts
Hello
If you buy a machine with 32G memory, there is no problem, because when the memory manufacturer makes the memory, the default 1000M is 1G, and there are many hidden system files that will occupy the memory, so it is normal to display 28G.
Reply Support Not support

Use magic Report

1

Threads

5

Posts

33

Credits

Newbie

Rank: 1

Credits
33
 Author| Post time 2019-12-19 14:06:54 | Show all posts
Hi,

as I have already written, the Beelink BT 3 Pro is bought used. There is 64GB HDD on the box and in the announce. It's clear that I don't actually have a 64GB. But 28GB is a bit too little. Where can I check what is installed? Is there such a thing as a serial number check? Thank you !
Reply Support Not support

Use magic Report

334

Threads

2648

Posts

8031

Credits

Administrator

Rank: 9Rank: 9Rank: 9

Credits
8031
Post time 2019-12-19 14:14:28 | Show all posts
Sasch1900 replied at 2019-12-19 14:06
Hi,

as I have already written, the Beelink BT 3 Pro is bought used. There is 64GB HDD on the box an ...

Can you provide me a photo of the back of the machine? We can judge whether the machine is 64G by the back of the photo. You can send the photo to beelink.china@gmail.com and we will reply you after we receive it.
Reply Support Not support

Use magic Report

1

Threads

5

Posts

33

Credits

Newbie

Rank: 1

Credits
33
 Author| Post time 2019-12-19 14:29:19 | Show all posts
Edited by Sasch1900 at 2019-12-19 14:31

Hi,
this is not a problem. Since I am from Germany, it will take some time. I'm just at work. I will then send two photos since I bought a second one. Thanks for the support.
Reply Support Not support

Use magic Report

17

Threads

673

Posts

4387

Credits

Super Moderator

Rank: 8Rank: 8

Credits
4387
Post time 2019-12-20 11:38:13 | Show all posts
Edited by Phant0m`` at 2019-12-19 23:42

Beelink is correct, to hard disk manufacturers one KB is 1000 bytes, one MB is 1000 KB, and one GB is 1000 MB. In your case, this Beelink product has 32GB storage, it contains 32 * 1000 * 1000 * 1000 = 32,000,000,000‬ bytes of space. The hard disk manufacturer thus advertises the disk as a 32 GB hard disk.

However, manufacturers of RAM don't sell it in even groups of 1000 – they use groups of 1024. When you're buying memory, a KB is 1024 bytes, a MB is 1024 KB, and a GB is 1024 MB. Now reverse it from 32,000,000,000 bytes:


32,000,000,000 / (1024 * 1024 * 1024) = 29 GB

There's also some overhead required when Windows formats your drive, for the file system and boot data and hidden recovery partitions can account for difference. End results Windows will show 28 GB Capacity.


Windows has always calculated hard drives as powers of 1024 while hard drive manufacturers use powers of 1000.

You will observe the same thing if you look at external HDDs and USB Flash drives..

Regards,
Phant0m`` :)
w/Beelink GT1-A (S912), Android 7.1.2 (Nougat) 709N1_20190301-163348
Beelink GT1 Mini (95X2), Android 9 (Pie) 004P0_20191108
Beelink GT1 Ultimate (G912), Android 7.1.2 (Nougat) GT1_708N0_20180225
Reply Support Not support

Use magic Report

1

Threads

5

Posts

33

Credits

Newbie

Rank: 1

Credits
33
 Author| Post time 2019-12-20 14:35:48 | Show all posts
Phant0m`` replied at 2019-12-20 11:38
Beelink is correct, to hard disk manufacturers one KB is 1000 bytes, one MB is 1000 KB, and one GB i ...



You don't seem to have understood the topic. The 28 GB would be "normal" if a 32Gb HDD is installed! 64GB HDD are printed on the box. I'm already aware that I don't actually have a 64GB. I sent Beelink a photo of the serial number so that they can check whether the Beelink was delivered with 32GB. Then everything would be okay. Not nice, because I would like a 64Gb, as it says on the packaging.
Reply Support Not support

Use magic Report

17

Threads

673

Posts

4387

Credits

Super Moderator

Rank: 8Rank: 8

Credits
4387
Post time 2019-12-20 15:18:42 | Show all posts
Edited by Phant0m`` at 2019-12-20 03:25
Sasch1900 replied at 2019-12-20 02:35
You don't seem to have understood the topic. The 28 GB would be "normal" if a 32Gb HDD is instal ...

32GB simply an example..

Use Windows ' Disk Management ' utility and have a look at Disk 0 ( C: ) to see the different partitions and sizes used. :)

64GB should be giving u at least 57GB under normal circumstances.
w/Beelink GT1-A (S912), Android 7.1.2 (Nougat) 709N1_20190301-163348
Beelink GT1 Mini (95X2), Android 9 (Pie) 004P0_20191108
Beelink GT1 Ultimate (G912), Android 7.1.2 (Nougat) GT1_708N0_20180225
Reply Support Not support

Use magic Report

1

Threads

5

Posts

33

Credits

Newbie

Rank: 1

Credits
33
 Author| Post time 2019-12-20 16:25:16 | Show all posts
Phant0m`` replied at 2019-12-20 15:18
32GB simply an example..

Use Windows ' Disk Management ' utility and have a look at Disk 0 ( C: ) ...

I know what you want to tell me with it. I am an IT administrator myself. So I am more than familiar with the topic. But thanks again for your clarification. I just want to know if the Beelink was delivered with 32GB or with 64GB HDD.
Reply Support Not support

Use magic Report

0

Threads

18

Posts

162

Credits

Read Only

Credits
162
Post time 4 day(s) ago | Show all posts
Note: The author has been banned or deleted.
Reply Support Not support

Use magic Report

You have to log in before you can reply Login | Sign up

Points Rules

Close

Webmaster RecommendedPrevious post /1 Next post

Quick Reply To Top Return to the list